Phil R Collection

Phil R

My name is Phil Redman from York, Pennsylvania USA. Most of you know me as Phil R. Originally I signed up years ago as Scifiman. My reasoning was that I collected the full gamut of space including robots, space toys, plastic space, ray guns and paper space collectibles. I was generally inactive for about 2 years and had some problems with the Scifiman name and changed it to a more conservative Phil R, copying Joe K. 😄 i studied advertising and graphic arts and fine arts in college. Over the years I've worked for advertising agencies, corporations and for York Barbell Company in York from 1974-1998 as advertising manager working on publishing, advertising, shows.

Some of you also know that I have been restoring antique advertising and toys since 1980 and have made that avocation my vocation from 1998 to present. In addition Mark Logan (Eagle) and I have collaborated on projects for the past few years.

My philosophy as a collector since the 1970s has been to buy what I can afford without my family sacrificing too much in the process. This was especially true when my wife spent 13 years away from her outside job making sure our daughter got her personal attention. I think that worked out well. Our daughter Jennifer has a Master's degree in social work and works every day with women less fortunate. I also am a new grandparent for the first and probably only time. You've probably seen the photo of Abigail with robots.

My collection consists of good space toys and robots, reproductions, a plastic space collection, ray guns old and new, Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers, a lot of paper items and books, new creations and a lot of original boxes for the toys packed away, with boxes and boxes of newer robots and space toys.

My wife and I also have collected Planters Peanut items(mine) Popeye(wife Connie) , holiday items, and Disney(Jennifer). I also had a large collection of comics(about 50 boxes now reduced to about 15). It's been a great ride! 🙂