Rotor Robot Belt Replacement

Fineas J. Whoopie

Just picked up a Rotor Robot. The rubber bands that rotate the eyes were all dried up and broken. I'd like to replace them but not sure how to go about it. It appears that the arms have to be removed so that the rod that moves the arms and (through the rubber bands) the eyes can be slipped to the side so that the new bands can be looped around the blue plastic cylinder. This rod is threaded through a hole in two tabs that are a part of the main frame . The arms don't feel like they want to come off without a dangerous amount of force.

I was wondering if anyone has replaced these bands and could give some advice?. Thanks.

post-143-1246607880.jpg

I have no experience with this robot,

what surprised me about chinese robby spacetanks is that their rubber bands around the wheels are stapled togeteher (with iron clamps (is that english??sorry))

and they work perfect.

so if you dont want to force and break the arms apart, maybe try this same method, or instead of iron use needle and little cotton wire, then the surface stays equal.

rubber from a bicycle innertube is very strong, and will last long, you can cut all dimensions you want.

That seems like good advice. Don't tear the thing apart. I'll bet even if you need the softness of a rubber band, you could find a solvent that could hold it together after it was cut. What about tire patch solvent? I've had my robot since I bought it new around 1970. I'll bet it needs a new rubber band too!

Yes you can cut a new rubber band then supper glue it back, the only down side is that the rubber band will age and go bad again. I seem to recal haveing used a elastic band once to repair one.

Thanks for the tips guys.

John - did you use super glue on the elastic? Did you glue it end to end or overlap it? It seems like a joint that is thicker than the rest of the band might bind between the gears and the cylinder.