Sonicon Mechanism

designprof

Hi Guys and Gals

I'm a newbie here. I joined because Alphadrome has the best knowledge and resources for mechanical toy collectors, hands down! I am not specifically a Robot guy...I just love the mechanisms and electronics used in these wonderful old toys. My "specialty" is Radicon and Sonicon vehicles, specifically buses (at least that's what I have found and collected so far). If you have any questions about Radicon Robot electronics and repair, let me know.

My question is about the Sonicon Rocket. Does anyone have a photo of the insides? Specifically, I need to know the orientation and positioning of the sound-drum and attached touch-switch. The one in my Sonicon bus can be pivoted through about 120 degrees so I don't know the original positioning. I have rebuilt the drive system...had to replace the motor and the original wheels were ruined by previous 'users' pushing the vehicle around on the floor. Finding new wheels was impossible so I was able to restore the mechanism using Erector Set pulley's with O-rings snapped onto them. While this may sound stupid, it worked extremely well.

So now I need to see if the rest of the vehicle is intact and if the sound drum is oriented properly. So any Sonicon photos you guys may have - Rockets or Buses - will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks Robobob for your comment. Yes, I've seen those photos and they're a great reference.

I have restored four Radicon buses so far and have a very good knowledge of the mechanism and electronics for Radicon. :)

The SONICON bus is baffling me, though. :blink:

The sound drum and trigger seem so random (as far as reversing the motor goes). So I am wondering if I am missing something or if that's the nature of the beast. Inside photos of a working unit, especially close-ups of the drum and switch arrangement, would really help me at this point.

• 1 year later...

Thanks Robobob for your comment. Yes, I've seen those photos and they're a great reference.