Batteries... Am I Going Crazy?

Guest Scott Cragstan

Guest Scott Cragstan

Hello Everyone. I'm new to Alphadrome and after a long absence from collecting robots I'm back. :-)

I'm sure everyone here will know this, or can confirm that I've finally lost my mind... are batteries BIGGER now than they used to be? I had a whale of a time getting a pair of batteries into my new repro Piston Action Robot's remote and even feared the hinges were going to give for a bit (the strong desire to see him run outweighed the fear finally but it was scary!). The pair of Smoking Spacemen that arrived earlier this week are even worse, I haven't managed to get batteries into either one of those yet, it just really feels like I am going to do some damage.

Circa the mid- to late 90s when I was active in the hobby before you used to be able to get a cheapo classic style battery at Radio Shack that was sold individually but I've not been able to find anything like that available now.

Anyone have any ideas?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Scott, welcome to the 'drome - Your avitar is one of my favorite robots - You are right about the batteries, they are a real tight fit. I think someone mentioned using cheap flashlite ones instead of the Alkaline's etc. I'm sure they'll jump in here -

Welcome back to the hobby, SC !

In Canada, as pointed out to me by ROBOTNUT, dollar store batteries (usually 2 or 4 for $1. usually a blue/white label here) work perfectly, especially in the vintage robots. They're much lighter and smaller than the new Alkaline stuff. They don't run for very long in general, but they sure are easier to get out and back in.

Space Surveillant Saucer is another one which modern batteries almost don't come out once they're in, they must be pryed out.

Welcome Mr. Cragston and "Yes Virginia modern batteries are bigger"... B)

Go to your nearest Dollar Store and buy some cheap Carbon Batteries.