Storage: Running Vintage Robots

mighty 8

Hello, I have a question regarding vintage Robots. I was wondering if running your vintage Robots (notice I did not say play with) occasionaly would lower the value of the Robot? For instance, every month you run the Robot a little. I am new to collecting vintage Robots and would be interested to know what other collectors do. I would imagine most collectors run them sometime as that would be part of the enjoyment. I look forward to hearing some replies.

Happy Holidays to All,

Richard

This topic was discussed in depth a while back, maybe someone

could find the thread. The reality is, ALL battery operated toys

will eventually stop working, no matter how well they are cared

for. Personally, when I receive a vintage toys and it has never been

opened before, I'll usually repair it. If it stops working in the future,

I won't repair it again, unless I am selling it. Luckily, most battery op

toys can be restarted without opening them up. By using long metal

probes, you can quite often poke at the gears to restart them. Unless

you want to demonstrate or sell a vintage battery op robot, there really

is no reason to have it working. Running the toy a lot will grind the gears,

wear the motor brushes and possibly burn out the lights. Taking a toy

appart will always cause some damage, even if not noticable. We all

hope that these toys will be around for a long time. If every future

owner takes the toy apart to get it working, in a few generations,

the remaining toy will be in much worst condition than if it was left alone

and not working. I've also noticed that If I find a toy that doesn't work

and if I try it 6 months or a year later, it does. The other issue is, if you

have hundreds or thousands of toys in your collection, what do you do them... :huh:

www.robotnut.com

Welcome to Alphadrome, mighty 8.