Trickiest Robot Repair?

dratomic

Since it's on my mind lately: What's the trickiest toy robot/astronaut/space ship/whatever repair you've ever attempted? Were you successful? Was there any sort of eureka moment that allowed it to come together?

Related question #1: What's the most expensive/valuable/rare/whatever toy you've worked on? I know a bunch of people on this forum have worked on members of the Gang of Five. What about a Diamond Planet or Jupiter robot? Were you nervous about opening up such expensive toys?

Related question #2: Was there any attemted repair that resulted in even more damage to the toy? (Though if this is the case, perhaps it might be too painful a topic of discussion...)

(Yeah, I'm a professional journalist... They say curiosity killed the cat. But the cat's still got to ask questions.)

Space Explorer is a stinker, so is Missile robot, Tuliphead X-70 is difficult. The first Radicon is hard as you do not know what it is about.

Technically it is easy. I was succesful in all my repairs, but it often was a Phyrrus-victory. If you buy a car wreck at the junkyard

you can spend 3x the newprice in restoring it.If you spent of lot of time on restoring totally ruined cheap robots.. well you learn from it.

The most chilling experiences comes with robots that are glued or soldered.

The splitting of the Expenski robot is not an experience I cherish. (I finally used ultra sound)

Everybody is always concerned about breaking off tabs, but if you use a small round-nosed pair of plyers, they never do.

I worked on 4 of the gang of 6. Not on shooting and machineman. Also on Topolino and all the other $$$. Makes no difference.

The small and primitive robots and the plastics, are the hardest.

If you have the tools, the mechanisms, in general, pose no problems. Space explorer is difficult as you need to nearly 100% close

it, to check if everything is properly adjusted. And a broken mechanism in SE usually results in more than one defect.