Alpha-Rama the Biped walking robot project

robothut

OK so I bought a 3d printer a few weeks ago that was for sale "FOR PARTS ONLY" off Ebay " a few hundered bucks so I had to take the chance" and fixed it up in a few hours. That got me printing dirt cheep. The robot clock I did a thread on a week ago was the first thing I printed and it turned out great. So then I decided it was time to learn for 3d cad design. I down loaded a free program called Design Spark Mechanics. I am not good at it but I have managed to design and print out 25 parts from 18 different files I generated. 

So many of us thought of the Jaggernaught as a drunk robot when it was walking that I thought, well if its a drunk robot they want then look no further than BENDER from Future-Rama. So I did a mash up of Bender and Alphabot that I call Alpha-Rama. Bender claims to be powered by Beer , or so he claims in the shows and his favorite thing to say is "KIss my shiny metal ass" so I had to add a 7th servo for the beer pouring mechanical arm that comes out of the chest opening to his mouth and a sound bite of his line.

here is a you tube that explains alot more.

https://youtu.be/gOKPxDrr9yQ

DSC01678.jpg

DSC01677.jpg

DSC01679.jpg

DSC01684.jpg

• Replies 222
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, that's just a peach, John.  I can see an utterly addictive group of robots lurching into view: Alpha-Frankenbot, Alpha-Trump. It's a complete franchise! Please put me on your list if this reaches the production line.

The feet servos are gear connected now, the Jaggernaught was a lever and ball bearing set up, these gears look great, sort of like a cartoon joke.

The programming slot is on top the head, the beer bottle neck antenna lifts out. Oh I added two rubber strips to the bottom of the feet so that they do not slip so much and it should make the robot more stable on non clean or level surfaces. Here is a picture of the gear feet drive and the 25, 3d printed parts.

DSC01685.jpg

DSC01676.jpg