Horikawa Piston Robot Factory Prototypes

target

How come no one on the board is talking about these from Horikawa/SH/Metal House robot's . Has anyone seen these at the Museum or versions of this in Japan ? They are truly awesome looking !

mwg0hUgNpPaLtOVf0loAZYw.jpg
miNMFihNEyRVPNKBPPQ6fUA.jpg

I find it amazing* that someone seems to have a continuous supply of these 40y old "proto types"

* hard to believe

These all look 'too new', don't seem to be aged at all. I'm a styrene vintage model builder as well... I wonder if these bright glossy plastic arms/legs/tinted bodies are being newly manufactured with the old moulds. Yes they just keep on 'discovering' new never before seen items. They are beautiful 'bots but how big is this mysterious cabinet of prototypes that no one has frequented inside for 40 years or so? I see 'em come up, I say to myself they're nice, then I move on to the stuff I know is truly vintage. If these interest some collector at that $ level (some I've seen have been quite high) then there IS a market and as Seinfeld once said "...not that there's anything wrong with that." :rolling:

I'd say they've got to be considered more of a NEW ROBOT than vintage OR repop OR prototype. Just my opinion, no disrespect intended to the parties involved. :lecture:

Because they're not prototypes. They're modern robots assembled in extremely limited numbers and then called prototypes in the hope that the term will lend them some caché among collectors. But it's disingenuous -- the terms "prototype" or "preproduction" imply the piece is an early stage in the development of a production toy. These aren't -- they were never meant to launch a new line of robots. They're cobbled together by factories/companies looking for quick sales.