Print your own 3D robot?

Andyman

Oh yeah...I'm definitely taking advantage of this site! :o This is a overgrown child's dream, to design, and own your own unique robot...absolute nirvana!! :wub:

Wow! This is amazing. I can't wait to make one. I wonder if this is the real future of toys- no more mass production, but instead fully customizable processes overseen by each consumer.

So what is a good CHEAP software that lets you render in 3-D like this. Growing up here in Buffalo, the local kids show that ran cartoons was Rocketship 7. The cohost was Promo the Robot...the robot I use as my pic for my name. I want to build one, but I am not experienced at sculpting. I do have an old Mego Tin Man I was planning on making a "suit" for....but boy, if I could render him in 3-D like these robots, I can take it to someone, or send the file to someone who has one of these printers and have it printed out. It would save a lot of work I have no idea how to do...and it would be designed in a way that I DO know how to do...DRAW. I hear CAD does this...but there has to be low end software that does a decent job for something like this. I wouldn't mind doin both versions...but the one I really want is the square one with the cone on his head.

post-125-0-56860700-1321647249.jpg

Well I found one problem with this site - they don't ship to Australia. I've sent them an email asking if they planned to include sending to Australia.

So in the meantime this one will have to wait.

post-1110-0-88460200-1321710782.png

You know something, this takes a lot more thought than you'd think! :huh: However, I managed to hammer out my own robot, which is being mastered for me as I type this. So, without further ado, here he is...

Tinplate-6 (original name hunh?) ;)

post-656-0-98829800-1322267140.jpg

post-656-0-06436800-1322611961.png

Once he arrives, I'll get a photo of the real deal. :)

Here's some more detailed information from the site... ;)